TBT Book Review: Death Before Decaf by Caroline Fardig

March 16, 2017 Book Reviews, Fall, Seasonal Reading, Throw Back Thursday 2

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TBT Book Review: Death Before Decaf by Caroline FardigDeath Before Decaf (A Java Jive Mystery, #1) by Caroline Fardig
Series: A Java Jive Mystery #1
Published by Alibi on November 17th 2015
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Pages: 296
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.  After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.   The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.

 

Just picked up book four from Netgalley! I am very sad to say I completely forgot about this even though I thought it was adorable at the time. Obviously with getting book four I ran to Amazon and picked up books two and three and I’m trying to catch up fast!

Fortunately, I re-read my review and the plot and characters came crashing back. This was a great ride, full of twists and turns and characters that just make me want to laugh and hug them.

If you enjoy cozy mysteries, I just finished book two and will be posting that review soon. These books are fabulous. I’m definitely a fan. Hopefully I don’t forget this time!

My thoughts

What a perfect book! I am in love with cozy mysteries lately. It should not surprise me considering I grew up reading Nancy Drew but for some reason, it still does.

This cozy mystery has all of the right stuff, great characters, a murder, and intrigue.

Juliet is in trouble. She has to take a position in a small coffee shop where she worked when she was in college. The fact that she is now 30 strikes her as funny, but certainly not ha ha funny. She is frustrated and does not feel like dealing with a bunch of college students who are going to be mouthy. Which is why she’s on edge and winds up yelling at her cook and lets into him.  The fact that he is later found murdered puts her into the prime suspect position.

Being the fighter that she is, Juliet is not just going to go to the police station without a fight. She is going to find the real murderer, even if she gets killed along the way!

Life has given me lemons. What’s a girl to do? I’m going to make some coffee.

Firstly, I love Juliet. She is quirky and smart. She’s putting things together that those around her cannot even fathom doing. She’s the new girl in town so she doesn’t have many people to rely on. Her best friend is the one person who trusts her but even he is up over his head.

The one thing I didn’t really enjoy was that everything and everyone had their fingers pointed at her. Even journalists! No matter where she turns, the poor girl just cannot get a break.

I loved the tit for tat between her and Ryder and although I’m not sure which guy I’m pulling for, I really like him! I do like Pete but his on again off again relationship throws me off. I do not like that he is willing to drop everything for his ditz of a girlfriend, whom does not even like Juliet! Blah!

The other characters are just as much fun as the two main men. I love Gertie! She is spunky for an old gal.

In short: This is the first in a series and I am so glad. I really enjoyed every minute and I really want more Java Jive!

The Author

 

About Caroline Fardig

CAROLINE FARDIG was born and raised in a small town in Indiana. Her working career has been rather eclectic thus far, with occupations including schoolteacher, church organist, insurance agent, funeral parlor associate, and stay-at-home mom. Finally realizing that she wants to be a writer when she grows up, Caroline has completed her first novel, IT'S JUST A LITTLE CRUSH, and is currently hard at work churning out a second novel in the series. She still lives in that same small town with an understanding husband, two sweet kids, two energetic dogs, and one malevolent cat.

Save

Save

Save

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

2 Responses to “TBT Book Review: Death Before Decaf by Caroline Fardig”