Book Review: Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe

October 13, 2015 Blog, Book Reviews 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’KeefeEverything I Left Unsaid (Everything I Left Unsaid, #1) by Molly O'Keefe
Series: Everything I Left Unsaid #1
Published by Bantam on October 13th 2015
Genres: Erotica, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 352
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star


Fans of Jodi Ellen Malpas, K. Bromberg, and Joanna Wylde will be unable to resist this sexy, deeply intimate tale of a woman running from her past, and the darkly mysterious man who sets her free.
  I didn’t think answering someone else’s cellphone would change my life. But the stranger with the low, deep voice on the other end of the line tempted me, awakened my body, set me on fire. He was looking for someone else. Instead he found me.   And I found a hot, secret world where I felt alive for the first time.   His name was Dylan, and, strangely, he made me feel safe. Desired. Compelled. Every dark thing he asked me to do, I did. Without question. I longed to meet him, but we were both keeping secrets. And mine were dangerous. If I took the first step, if I got closer to Dylan—emotionally, physically—then I wouldn’t be hiding anymore. I would be exposed, with nothing left to surrender but the truth. And my truth could hurt us both.

 

My thoughts

Ho. Ly. Shit

This is exactly how I feel about this book! I’m not really into erotica (unless it’s knock your socks off good) and normally I skim through the parts that are sexy, but not this book. I wanted to read EVERY. DAMN. WORD! No skimming! EVER.

It starts pretty good and I instantly felt connected to Annie. She has had a tough life and although I have not been through the same things, everyone has their own issues. She just happens to have issues that she is running away from; namely an abusive husband. She winds up moving to a trailer park across country, hoping this will make her feel more secure.

Then the phone rings! Ohhh goodness. It starts with the simple saying yes on a cell phone.

The conversations do not start out sexy but they both know that something is there. Annie, being worried and trying to hide her identity, tells the caller that her name is Layla. With this simple act she devises a new persona, one that she has been way to scared to take on in her earlier life. This persona is a bit scary but in a good way.

The more she and Dylan talk, the sexier things get!

This is why you called me baby. Let me do my job.

Whew!! Just let him do his job Annie!

Put the phone on the pillow beside your ear,” he said. “I want you to use two hands.”

“This sounds advanced,” I whispered. His chuckle was sexy and warm, and I smiled at the sound of it.

Now, to be totally honest, this confused me a little. Abusive husband but she is flirting with a stranger. However, that being said, the way in which they “meet” makes it less scary (ish). It’s her new persona and the fact that she really likes him, that keeps them going. But she is all smart ass. Her dumb ass husband did not take that part of her personality!

Would you believe no free Wi-Fi?

By the time I got to Part Two I wanted to freak out.

Dylan has his own issues though. Some of which come out as the book progresses. By the end I think most of his dark secrets are laid to bare.

In short: The more this plot moved on, the more I wanted to read. So excited to find book two on Netgalley. I did not want to put this down!

Vocab Report:

Staid:

adjective

1. of settled or sedate character; not flighty or capricious.
2. fixed, settled, or permanent.
verb

3.

Archaic. a simple past tense and past participle of stay.
Capitulation:

verb (used without object), capitulated, capitulating.

1. to surrender unconditionally or on stipulated terms.

2. to give up resistance:

He finally capitulated and agreed to do the job my way.
The Author

 

 

About Molly O'Keefe

Molly O'Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn't looked back. She loves exploring every character's road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she's not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Comments are closed.