Book Review: Rolling in the Deep by Rebecca Rogers Maher

November 16, 2015 Book Reviews 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: Rolling in the Deep by Rebecca Rogers MaherRolling in the Deep by Rebecca Rogers Maher
Published by Loveswept on November 10th 2015
Genres: Romance
Pages: 180
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne Star

In this raw, moving novel for readers of Jill Shalvis, Molly O’Keefe, and Karina Halle, two kindred spirits share a winning lottery ticket—and discover what it really means to get lucky.
Holly Ward is stretched to the breaking point, raising her young son alone and working long hours for minimum wage at a local superstore. Sure, she’s noticed the new guy with the easy grin and warm brown eyes, but she’s learned the hard way that relationships aren’t worth the pain. Still, when he invites her to split a lottery ticket, she figures a little innocent fun couldn’t hurt. The last thing she expects is to score big, which is exactly what happens . . . in more ways than one.
From the moment he meets Holly, Ray Lopez is drawn to her quiet dignity and openhearted beauty. And when they hit the jackpot together, he’s thrilled that the single mom can give her kid a better life. The only problem is the chaos surrounding them: lawyers and reporters swarming, friends and family angling to get their cut. In all the chaos, Ray discovers an oasis of calm and passion in Holly. But with the stakes higher than ever, winning her trust could cost him everything.

 

My thoughts

This was a really cute romance. Short and sweet type.

The only problem that I had with it was that both characters seem a little tender. They are so hurt by life that they are timid. When both characters are timid it is difficult to see how the plot is going to move forward.

Holly has a lot of issues. Her ex is one of those and he is really emotionally demanding. Basically he is a complete jerk to Holly all of the time. She doesn’t stand up for herself, ever. He then holds their son against her and anything and everything that happens in her life, against her. It’s such a frustrating plot line.

It’s not all bad though, Holly’s libido starts waking up when she meets Ray. As does his. They go in on a lottery ticket together and wind up having to get to know each other. I do like how their relationship grows, although it’s slow it does wind up having an interesting path.

In short: This was like a bubblegum pop type of romance. A lot of drama but the plot was fun.

The Author

 

Rebecca Rogers Maher writes gritty, realistic stories that push the boundaries of typical contemporary romance — uniting the genre’s explicit sex scenes and happy endings with the crisp, layered prose of literary fiction.

Publishers Weekly describes Rebecca’s writing as “gripping and touching,” Library Journal calls it “gut-wrenching,” and USA TODAY declares it “very well-done romance…so satisfying.”

One StarOne StarOne Star
Comments are closed.