Book Review: The Phoenix Born by Kaitlyn Davis

November 19, 2015 5 Exclamations!!!, Book Reviews 2

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: The Phoenix Born by Kaitlyn DavisThe Phoenix Born by Kaitlyn Davis
Series: A Dance of Dragons #3
on Published November 17th 2015
Genres: Fantasy
Source: Author
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the final book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series—perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones!

For the first time in a thousand years, the fire dragon has been awakened and Rhen is its rider. But after destroying the armies that threatened the city of Rayfort, Rhen is shown a vision in flames that changes everything. The shadow's phantom armies are coming and the dragons are the only things that might stop them.

High in the castle at the top of the Gates, Jinji has learned something of her own. Janu, her long lost twin, is alive. And just as the spirit shares her body, the shadow shares his. In the blink of an eye, her quest for vengeance against the evil that killed her family has changed to one of protection. Because she knows that if Rhen learns the truth he will do what she cannot—end the shadow, and end her brother in the process.

As the shadow grows more aggressive, Jinji and Rhen fight to find the rest of the dragon riders. But with time running out, they are forced to face the impossible decision between honor and love. Alliances are formed, promises are broken, and the fate of the world hangs in the balance…

 

My thoughts

If you take a look at my categories you may see some fantasy, mostly Terry Pratchett, but it is definitely not the dominating genre here. My hubby loves fantasy and he is the only reason I started reading Terry Pratchett, but for the most part, fantasy and I just do not get along. Kaitlyn Davis has a way of alluring you into her words like she is a book siren. Once you start you cannot back away!

All of Kaitlyn’s books have done that to me, and this is no different. From the beginning of the series I have loved these characters. They are strange and dynamic, and endearing! I get to the end of her books and just want to cry because I know that I will never again be the same! And the fact that she loves killing her readers with cliff hangers. THIS book is the last in a series and that alone is enough to make me want to read very, very slowly and to drag the book out as long as I possibly can.

I have not read the novellas that go with this series but I can say that I am going to soon! This book has all of the tension and drama that the characters had in her previous books. True to their characters, they stayed on the course (so much to spoil here!!) and did not deviate from what they thought was the right course of action. This did not always fit entirely with what I wanted them to do, but it always made sense.

Surprisingly, not only did I completely enjoy this fantasy but the book really kept me on my toes. There were things in this one that surprised me and stuff that I did not see coming.

If you have not read the previous books you really should. This is not one of those that you can pick up one in the series and understand what is happening (also why I cannot give much information for the third book). They need to be read in order to fully get what is going on. But once you start, you will not want to put them down!

Fantastic writing, beautiful characters that are full of depth and warmth. Loved every word!

The Author

 

About Kaitlyn Davis

Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy.

Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

To stay up-to-date with all of Kaitlyn's new releases, sign up for her publication day newsletter here: TinyLetter.com/KaitlynDavisBooks

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

2 Responses to “Book Review: The Phoenix Born by Kaitlyn Davis”