Book Review: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss

October 27, 2015 Book Reviews 0

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia MossThe Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone
Published by Redhook on October 20th 2015
Genres: Amateur Sleuth, Mystery
Pages: 320
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
 Stars

For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something.
The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.
Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she's not living her best life. But that's all about to change.
Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she's offered a job. A job that she's woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).
Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she's just the girl to deal with them.

 

My thoughts

Virgin set the bar too high.

So… I requested this from Netgalley because I heard it was similar to Virgin, which is an uproariously hilarious book about a girl that does all kinds of drastic and horrible things to get a boyfriend. Looking at my review, I’m actually surprised that I gave it a 4.5 because honestly, I just about died laughing at that one. That being said, I was more than excited with the premise of The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss.

I could imagine the torturous predicaments she would put herself (and others) through and I was psyched!

Although the girls are similar the stories are not. I thought this would be even more up my alley because it has an MMORPG twist to it. The entire case was based off of what happened in a game. That portion really resonated with me so I was all gung ho and ready to dig in with some popcorn and raisinets.

And then… nothing really happened. Sadly, the what happened did not live up to the premise.

It’s a geeky girl meets weird but rich guy who is willing to pay her to go online and investigate a robbery inside a game! That sounds awesome right? But the quirky geek girl just did not fit. I was expecting someone like Amy from the Big Bang Theory but wound up not understanding who this gal is at all.

The idea was definitely there but I struggled just to get to 20%. It’s heartbreaking because I so wanted to love this.

 

In short: DO not compare this to Virgin. If you haven’t read Virgin and you’re into Geeky stuff, you may enjoy this.

 Stars
Comments are closed.