Throw Back Thursday: Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

December 29, 2016 Guilty Pleasures, Top Ten Tuesday, Winter Reading 0

throw-back-thursday-done

Looking back, I still absolutely love this list. In the past year a lot has changed but my love for reading, although I did a lot less of it in 2016, has not changed. The Martian is the only book of this list that has stuck with me so much that it is on many of my fav books list for 2016! If you haven’t read it or have not watched the movie, I cannot recommend it more! It is fabulous.

The other books on this list are also very good but many of them I forgot about! I have thought about Everything I Left Unsaid multiple times but could not figure out the name or who wrote it so I sort of wrote it off of my to look for again lists. The mysteries however have stuck with me!  I’m not a huge fan of mysteries but these two are brilliant. I really need to look up the authors and read more of their stuff.

So, that’s my list for 2015. My top ten for 2016 will be coming soon!

Dec 15:

Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

Much like my favorite authors from last week’s Top Ten Tuesday, this list has my favorite books that they wrote.

Sci Fi:

My favorite of 2015! At this moment (late October) I still have yet to write a review. My hubby talked me into this one and I loved EVERY. FREAKING. WORD. We even saw the movie and thought about going to see it a second time before it leaves theaters! I just love the main character and his snarkiness. And the fact that he is extremely intelligent. Review coming soon in the form of He Said / She Said.

The Martian

The Martian by Andy Weir

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him & forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded & completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—& even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—& a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

Romance:

Everything I left unsaidEverything I Left Unsaid | My Review

Fans of Jodi Ellen Malpas, K. Bromberg, and Joanna Wylde will be unable to resist this sexy, deeply intimate tale of a woman running from her past, and the darkly mysterious man who sets her free.

I didn’t think answering someone else’s cellphone would change my life. But the stranger with the low, deep voice on the other end of the line tempted me, awakened my body, set me on fire. He was looking for someone else. Instead he found me.

And I found a hot, secret world where I felt alive for the first time.

His name was Dylan, and, strangely, he made me feel safe. Desired. Compelled. Every dark thing he asked me to do, I did. Without question. I longed to meet him, but we were both keeping secrets. And mine were dangerous. If I took the first step, if I got closer to Dylan—emotionally, physically—then I wouldn’t be hiding anymore. I would be exposed, with nothing left to surrender but the truth. And my truth could hurt us both.

 

SEduced by darknessSeduced | My Review

From USA Today bestselling author Alex Lux comes a paranormal romance full of mystery, suspense and dangerous love.

Rose Wintersong will kill her first love–just as she’s killed others. That is the dark prophecy that has guided her path for years. So she stays hidden with her coven of witches, raised a recluse by her despotic mother, hiding herself, and her powers, from the world.

Until she meets Derek, the sexy martial arts instructor who teaches her more than self-defense.

Derek O’Conner was born into wealth and power as a Druid Shifter whose family protects the wellspring of magic that has made them who they are. But he doesn’t want that responsibility and is on the run from his own destiny when he meets Rose, a shy beauty who doesn’t know her own inner strength.

Neither of them realize they are from opposing families at war, or that their love could destroy everything.

Until it’s too late.

Forbidden passions.

Deadly secrets.

A love that will stand against it all.

Mystery/Thriller:

 

Veronica Speedwell Mystery | My Reviewcurious beginning

London, 1887. As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria’s golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry—and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a sharpened hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England now gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

But fate has other plans, as Veronica discovers when she thwarts her own abduction with the help of an enigmatic German baron with ties to her mysterious past. Promising to reveal in time what he knows of the plot against her, the baron offers her temporary sanctuary in the care of his friend Stoker—a reclusive natural historian as intriguing as he is bad-tempered. But before the baron can deliver on his tantalizing vow to reveal the secrets he has concealed for decades, he is found murdered. Suddenly Veronica and Stoker are forced to go on the run from an elusive assailant, wary partners in search of the villainous truth.

 

As Chimney Sweepers | My Review As Chimney

Hard on the heels of the return of her mother’s body from the frozen reaches of the Himalayas, Flavia, for her indiscretions, is banished from her home at Buckshaw and shipped across the ocean to Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy in Toronto, her mother’s alma mater, there to be inducted into a mysterious organization known as the Nide.

No sooner does she arrive, however, than a body comes crashing down out of the chimney and into her room, setting off a series of investigations into mysterious disappearances of girls from the school.

 

Swerve | My ReviewSwerve

It’s high summer in the Mojave Desert, and Kristine Rush and her fiancé, Daniel, are en route from Las Vegas to Lake Arrowhead, California, for the July Fourth holiday weekend. But when Daniel is abducted from a desolate rest stop, Kristine is forced to choose: return home unharmed, but never to see her fiancé again, or plunge forward into the searing desert to find him…where a killer lies in wait.

 

 

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl | My ReviewThe Haunting

In that place where you’re more asleep than awake any more, I hear something else. A phrase uttered in a child’s voice, no more than a whisper: Night Night.

Something freaky’s going on with Sunshine’s new house . . . there’s the chill that wraps itself around her bones, the giggling she can hear in the dead of night, and then the strange shadows that lurk in her photographs. But the more weird stuff that happens, the less her mum believes her. Sunshine’s always had a quirky affiliation with the past, but this time, history is getting much too close for comfort . . .

If there is something, or someone, haunting her house, what do they want? And what will they do if Sunshine can’t help them?

As things become more frightening and dangerous, and the giggles she hears turn to sobs and screams, Sunshine has no choice but to accept what she is, face the test before her and save her mother from a fate worse than death.

The first in a frighteningly good new series based on the popular YouTube sensation The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Network, created by Paige McKenzie.

 

Horror:

 

The Tome of Bill Series | My ReviewBill the Vamp

There are reasons we fear the night. He isn’t one of them.

Meet Bill Ryder: programmer, gamer geek, and hopeless dweeb when it comes to women. All he ever asked for out of life was to collect his paycheck, hang out with his buds, and eventually (someday) ask out the girl of his dreams.

However, then Bill met Sally. She was mysterious, aggressive, and best of all…smoking hot. Bill never stood a chance. Before he knew what was happening Sally had lead him to his death, and that was only the beginning of his troubles.

Now Bill awakes to find himself an undead predator of the night. The only problem is he’s still at the bottom of the food chain.

He’s in way over his head, surrounded by creatures more dangerous, better looking, and a whole lot cooler than he is. Worst of all is the dreaded Night Razor, a master vampire who just can’t stand him. He gives Bill a 90-day deadline to either prove himself or meet a more permanent kind of death, and the deck is definitely stacked against him.

But Bill isn’t exactly average. A vampire like him hasn’t been seen in over five centuries. He’s got a few tricks up his sleeve, unlikely allies to help him out, and an attitude problem that makes him just too damn obnoxious to quit. He may just pull it off… if he doesn’t get his teeth kicked in first.

Bill the Vampire is an 80,000 word horror comedy adventure by Rick Gualtieri.

EngelEngel | My Review

THE ULTIMATE HORROR HAS BEEN UNLEASHED UPON AN UNSUSPECTING CITY.

When an advertisement encourages Charlie to murder his boss, he begins to wonder whether he’s losing his grip on reality.

When an archangel visits Adam one night and reveals the evil skulking beneath the surface of society, it will alter his life in ways he never could have foreseen.

Their paths will collide in the novelette Engel.

Non-Fiction

Faith of aFaith of a Mockingbird | My Review

Pastor and author Matt Rawle is on a mission. He sees Christ all around him–in books, movies, TV shows, rock music–and he wants to share what he sees. As Matt says, “God offers the raw ingredients, and ‘culture’ is whatever we cook up.”

In The Faith of a Mockingbird, based on Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, pastor and author Matt Rawle uses Lee’s beloved characters to explore Christian faith, theology, and ethics. Join Scout, Atticus Finch, Boo Radley, and Tom Robinson in this four-week study considering God’s world and what it all means.

The Faith of a Mockingbird is part of The Pop in Culture Series of Bible studies in which Matt Rawle stirs up a tasty gumbo of insight, humor, and inspiration based on some of your favorite pop culture classics. A DVD featuring four sessions with the author, a full Leader Guide, and a Worship Resources Flash Drive also are available for group study.

 

What were your favorite books in 2015?

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Comments are closed.