Vacation, TBR, or Bed

February 24, 2016 Blog, VTB 0

VTBEach week, choose three books, you can choose however you want (I am choosing books that are being published that week), make it easy for your three books. Then put those three books into the categories:

  • Take on vacation
  • Take to bed
  • Put onto your TBR forever

I’m going to start posting these on Wednesday with a link up if you want to join in on the fun! I’m really excited about it and think it will get us talking about why we want to (or not) read books!


 

The Books Publishing Feb 22nd:

The Children's Home
210 pages
Expected Publication Feb 22, 2016 by Scribner
For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor,and the startling revelations their behavior evokes.

In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up.

Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan’s lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan’s library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan’s past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan’s mind.

The Children’s Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque – as well as the glimmers of goodness – buried deep within the soul.

 


Our own country

February 23rd 2016 by Brilliance Audio

A love affair tests a new nation’s revolutionary ideals.
In 1770s Boston, a prosperous merchant’s daughter, Eliza Boylston, lives a charmed life—until war breaches the walls of the family estate and forces her to live in a world in which wealth can no longer protect her.

As the chaos of the Revolutionary War tears her family apart, Eliza finds herself drawn to her uncle’s slave, John Watkins. Their love leads to her exile in Braintree, Massachusetts, home to radicals John and Abigail Adams and Eliza’s midwife sister-in-law, Lizzie Boylston. But even as the uprising takes hold, Eliza can’t help but wonder whether a rebel victory will grant her and John the most basic of American rights.


Old Money
288 pages
Expected publication: February 23rd 2016 by Thomas & Mercer

Jake Crosby has traded in a stockbroker’s suit and tie for a standard-issue uniform. As a newly minted Mississippi game warden, he has two tough cases to cut his teeth on—the ongoing robbery of wealthy hunters and the ruthless search for a rumored hidden fortune.

According to local gossip, several million dollars have been missing since the conviction of local conman Bronson Bolivar, and following his death in prison, his two grown children have torn his property apart looking for the funds. As Jake searches for the robber who targets well-to-do outdoorsmen, he finds a trail leading to the Bolivars. But the allure of quick cash also draws unexpected interest from both Bronson’s former cellmate and an upstanding federal judge. Will Jake understand the severity of the situation in time or get caught up in a web of deceit?

 

The Vtb verdict

  • Our Own Country gets to come with me on vacation. It sounds like it may be inspiring and with the appeal of romance!
  • The Children’s Home will come with me to bed. It sounds deep but interesting!
  • Old Money gets put onto the TBR. As interesting as this one sounds, sadly I am not into another Thriller at the moment.

What books would you put on your list?

If you play, add your link below!

Upcoming lists:

  • Feb 3 – Teen & Ya
  • Feb 10 – Romance
  • Feb 17 – Literary Fiction
  • Feb 24 – Books Publishing Feb 22nd
  • March 2 – Ya
  • Mar 9 – Historical Fiction
  • Mar 16 – Ya publishing March 15th
  • Mar 23 – Cookbooks
  • Mar 30 – Ya publishing March 29th
  • April 6 – Historical Fiction


Purchase:

Comments are closed.